Lafkos is a beautifully preserved example of the traditional villages that dot the Pelion region and it has a lovely view of the sea, one of the the most stunning in Pelion.
The 'heart' of Lafkos is the square along with the bell tower of the church near the traditional cafe, Emmanuel Forlidas, which has been operating continuously since 1785.
The day, however, in the beautiful village of South Pelion starts much earlier from 4 am at the crack of dawn. It 's time to light the wood in the traditional wood burning oven of the John Drositis bakery.
Wandering through the square we can see the imposing church of the Nativity of the Virgin in 1887. It was built on the site of the older, smaller church from 1756. Next to it, the beautiful neoclassical bell tower dominates the area, along with two tall ancient cypress trees.
How many more centuries of life have been measured by these huge giants of the central square?
The Fampio Museum (which was once the village School) was established in 2005 in honor of local sculptor and painter Thanasis Fambas in order from to be honored by his hometown and for his contribution to Art and Culture.
Other famous children of Lafkos is the world-renowned guitarist Dimitris Fampas also his famous guitarist daughter Eva Fampas and the artist Antonis Tavanis.
With the name of the last operation the special Radio Museum collection has been donated by German Wilfried Soeps.
The presence of foreigners, Greeks or not, has always been beneficial to Lafkos. Buying houses renovated them, giving new life even for half a year, the village has been built between the 15th and 16th century and has been known in the past for significant economic boom.
Wandering with relaxing strolls through the cobbled narrow, admiring the stone houses with embossed dates from the 19th century, carved marble corbels , heavy wrought-iron railings on the balconies.
Since its foundation in 1976 and until today the Cultural Association "Action" has organized numerous cultural and musical events. New Year's dances, Spring feasts, musical evenings and theatrical events.
Music School is operating as well as theater school and school of traditional dances.
Aeromodelling is operating since 2008 outside Lafkos at the Prophet Elias area. George Tsiamis an amateur model aircraft manufacturer began to deal with aeromodelling in 2006. Slowly on his own initiative and with the help of friends he began to formulate the space of Aeromodelling.
Leaving on our left the Aeromodelling we continue seven kilometers up to the road that leads to the huge cypress and olive trees, next to the monastery of Saint Athanasius 1795.
In Lafkos is also a flour mill dated from the 30s. Unlike other windmills which were in the region this one is motor-driven. It has installed an electricity generator that provided the village with a stream from the 20s, 30s and until 1947-48. It is a place that can be visited.
Then we are leading to the old path which for about an hour downhills very beautifully to the beach. The magnificent view to Milina, Alatas and Trikeri is very charming as well the butterflies that follow us throughout the journey as we go down.
Before the construction of asphalt road this was the traditional walk which connected the Mediterranean with the coastal Lafkos to Milina.
Lafkos is very impressive winning at first acquaintance and stands a very good reason to return to the natural landscape of the mythical Centaurs and in all villages of south Pelion cooled by the views and beaches of both the Pagasitic Gulf and the Aegean Sea.